k3s Cluster


As a follow on to my Kubernetes cluster build from earlier this month, I decided to try out the k3s lightweight Kubernetes install on my same cluster.

Install Fedora Server 31

I used Fedora 31 as my base OS and installed the standard server. The k3s installation requires the legacy cgroups and iptables found in older OS versions, Fedora has decided to upgrade to newer versions of cgroups and iptables in 31.

To use cgroups v1, execute these commands:

sudo dnf install grubby
sudo grubby --update-kernel=ALL --args="systemd.unified_cgroup_hierarchy=0"

To use legacy iptables, execute these commands:

sudo update-alternatives --set iptables /usr/sbin/iptables-legacy

Reboot the server to get the changes to take affect.

Install k3s

The installation of k3s is fairly easy, for the master control node use:

curl -sfL https://get.k3s.io | sh -

After the install completes, you have a running single node Kubernetes cluster.